18. Stranger in a strange land

Today is 3 months since I arrived to Canada. Moving to another country is not what it may seem.

For an outsider, it looks like a bed of roses – smoothly land in your new country and start a new happy life, especially after looking at happy stories and colorful pictures at my blog.

In reality, it’s a rough road full of surprises and unexpected turns, and nobody knows what this road leads to.

First of all, when you move to another country you are a stranger in a strange land. You need to have an open mind and be ready to change yourself, adapt to a new country and new way of life. It is a hard work. You need a lot of courage to go through all the difficulties. You are absolutely out of your comfort zone in all aspects.

Secondly, when you make such a big move, your Maslou pyramid is blown to pieces. Welcome to new world of feeling insecure, stranded, and not knowing what to do.

In my experience, the most difficult moments are 2nd day, 2nd week and 2nd month of moving to another country. On the second day you cannot feel a joy of new life yet, but instead you are left to fight the jet lag and dehydration from flying. A normal way of things is to wake up in the middle of the night with thoughts “what the hell am  I doing here?”.

On the seconds week, the “honeymoon period” is over, touristy feelings are gone, body reserves are empty, and you start to fight real world problems that you have, like adapting psychologically and physically, finding a place to live, figuring out how to set up your new life, etc. And the most important, missing your family. All you want to do is to hug your beloved ones.

The second month feels slow. Everything is more or less settled, the foundation is ready, now it is a time to think what to do next and where to steer your life. In addition, you should never underestimate a power of nostalgia.  Many people have it. I did not have a nostalgia of places or things, but rather of time spent with close people, and understanding that it may never happen again.

I’ve been through it two times – first during my 2.5-month stay in Copenhagen, second – when I moved to Canada, and for me it was exactly the same.

But every coin has two sides. Life hardships can really break you or make you. It really depends on your inner strength and attitude. Everything depends on point of view. Immigration is a unique chance to start everything from scratch. You are the architect of your new life. Zero heritage carried over. In the same way, every problem can be considered as a personal challenge. Instead of saying “why me”, try saying “try me!”.

Personally for me, first few moths after immigration were more difficult then the immigration process itself, although it is hell. The most precise description of my feelings after moving is like being thrown out of a warm bed in the middle of the night into an ice-cold water. You either get scared to death and surrender, or learn to fight it and find your way to the top!

For me the recipe is simple – keep in mind the opportunities you are pursuing, every day get 1 step ahead of where you’ve been yesterday and do something that makes you happy.

2 thoughts on “18. Stranger in a strange land

  1. Congratulations! The 1/4 of a year – it is a significant date! I agree with You 50/50. For example, for me, the second day was indiscrabably happy! The second week and the second month – yes, I also had some sad thoughts…. But still the most harder days, months and years for me remain the same: the period of waiting for the end of my immigration process in my Homeland.

    Like

    1. It is different for everyone. I described my own feelings.
      I wanted people to know that it is still a very hard work, not a rose garden.

      Like

Leave a Reply

