27. Hike to Lac Monroe lookout spot

One of my favorite areas in Quebec is Mont-Tremblant national park. I could not miss an opportunity to go there. And this time I was lucky to see something that I have never seen in my life before!

Today was cloudy November day. Despite that thermometer climbed only to +1 in Mont-Tremblant, there was no wind an the weather was really pleasant. This time I really wanted to go to some lookout area where I would see valley or a river from above.

Riviere du diable
Riviere du diable
I love those wooden bridges

To my big surprise, on entrance to the park, there was noone in a toll booth. But there was a sign that visitor must proceed to service center that is located 10 km down the road to pay. I guess some people would be happy to be able to sneak into the park, and left unpaid. But this is not my way, I don’t like to feel like I stole something. I went to the service center, to be amazed by a nice modern building located on a lake, that has a fireplace inside and warm drinks. A pleasant monsieur was in charge there, he recommended some really nice places to go that I am really grateful for!

Is it possible not to fall in love with roads like  this?
Is it possible not to fall in love with roads like this?

There is a trail called La Corniche chat goes 1.5 km into the forest gaining elevation of 135 meters. In the end of the trail there is an amazing lookout area overlooking Lac Monroe. One of the best places I have ever visited!

Green mosaic along the trail
Green mosaic along the trail

IMG_1112

The temperature drops below freezing at night, and above 0 at daytime which creates such amazing icicles
The temperature drops below freezing at night, and above 0 at daytime which creates such amazing icicles

IMG_1136

IMG_1137

The view is gorgeous
The view is gorgeous
Lac Monroe
Lac Monroe
Explanation of what is visible
Explanation of what is visible
Twisty road down below
Twisty road down below
The sun was playing around with clouds creating such amazing views
The sun was playing around with clouds creating such amazing views
Amazing valley
Amazing valley

I could not resist a temptation to see Chutes de Diable again so I made another short trip there.

IMG_1216

IMG_1215

On my way back, I have seen something that I have never seen in my life before! A pair of baby deers were eating grass on a roadside! I have never seen big wild animals in the nature! They were so peaceful and allowed us to come really close to them.

IMG_1220

IMG_1230

What an amazing day it was!

Leave a Reply

