50. Trucks of firefighters’ festival in Laval

This weekend I was entertaining myself by visiting firefighters festival in Laval, on Montreal’s north shore.

I have never wanted to be a firefighter when I was a kid (I wanted to be a president). But I really  respect firefighters’ job and there is something they have that I am crazy about. Fire trucks! I am truck fan since I was a kid I must confess. All those dirty and smelly, huge and powerful trucks, long roads… Anyway, I decided that I must some and see firefighters’ trucks – they are big, red, shiny and have loud sirens! This year’s festival included fire trucks parade! Ain’t it the best way to satisfy my inner child? Here is what I have seen.

IMG_3711
First, the parade started with a march of kids from firefighter academy
IMG_3716
There was some early firefighting equipment like this steampunk-looking horse carriage.
IMG_3717
Then there were some of first fire tucks. This one resembles early Ford T model. Please correct me if I am wrong.
IMG_3726
Is it possible not to fall in love with those 50’s – 60’s shapes?
IMG_3767
Then modern trucks followed. All of them had sirens on! Better then Christmas!

Then, after parade it was time to take a close look at trucks

IMG_3817

IMG_3819
If oil is not leaking from a truck, it means there is no oil left
IMG_3822
A bit newer Ford. I really like attention to details

IMG_3823

IMG_3824
Looks like it was serving a fire brigade just yesterday! Great!

IMG_3825

 

IMG_3857
Old fire ladder truck. Really well-restored

IMG_3827

IMG_3828
They have what to show under the hood…
IMG_3830
Amazing! I guess the spark plugs are modern, but wires and pipes are original!
IMG_3838
Attentive reader can find me on this photo)) Comment if you did!
IMG_3846
Real machinery. No computers, nothing to break down. Manual metal stuff is made to last.
IMG_3853
1953 Mack-Magirus
IMG_3804
A bulldog is a symbol of Mack trucks and each one has bulldog on its hood. This one has a firefighter bulldog.

IMG_3792IMG_3791IMG_3786

 

Those who are not interested in trucks could find something interesting too.

IMG_3814
Not a firetruck, but still amazing car from 50s!
IMG_3868
Private collections of firefighters’ gear,
IMG_3867
badges
IMG_3865
Amazing collection of fire truck models from all over the world

Here firefighters not only fight fire, but they are first to come on rescue in life threatening situations. They showed visitors how they do it! Very interesting!

IMG_3872
Demonstration how to reanimate a person
IMG_3706
Firefighters have toys of their own. Do you know what do they do with these?
IMG_3892
They use it to cut cars after accidents and take out people who are unable to leave the car because of its damage
IMG_3894
They can cut the doors off
IMG_3904
And even roof! In a couple of minutes!
IMG_3912
Don’t get into accidents, or this is what these guys will do to your car!
IMG_3923
Demonstration of how firefighters open closed doors
IMG_3924
Some other nice toys like pneumatic air bag that lift a side of a car
IMG_3925
Poor Acura. Please remember these photos when you violate traffic rules!

I think it is a nice festival. It is a tribute to hard and dangerous work of firefighters, it informs people what firefighters do and how they are able to help. Me, I was happy like a kid to see great old trucks. Other kids were very excited about firefighters, in 10-15 years they will ask themselves a question what do they want to do in life. I am sure many of them will remember this nice event 😉

 

Leave a Reply

