63. Going West on Trans-Canada Highway. Part 2.

Day 3. Thunder Bay – Brandon, MB, 920 km.

The morning in Thunder Bay began in pretty much the same way that the previous day has ended – with a rain. But in addition, there was a dense fog. I did not realize how bad it was before I left city – on the highway visibility was really poor, I could not drive over 80 km/h and keep it safe. The traffic was next to non-existent – dense fog, early Saturday morning. But it is a kind of drives that get into my memory the most!

2016-09-17 07.50.00.jpg
Foggy morning drive

Just out of Thunder Bay was a great point of interest the Kakabeka Falls. This gorgeous waterfall is often called “The Niagara of the North” and, in my opinion, absolutely worth-visiting. Just one minute from highway (follow signs, not GPS!), but you will be able to enjoy true beauty of Canadian nature! Needless to say that I was the only visitor to park on that humid Saturday morning.

img_6237
Kakabeka Falls
img_6243
Foggy canyon

Pushing further, to road continues West on still pretty much remote, mountainous terrain with very few towns. Lakes and forest are dominating this land.

Next stop – the Central Timezone sign. The very western part of Ontario lives in the Central timezone. Switching my watch back one hour, and I have the fist 25-hour days of my trip. Two more to come.

img_6254
Welcome to the Central Standard Time Zone!
img_6260
Western Ontario, few hours before Manitoba border

The closer I was getting to Manitoba, the thinner the fog was getting, and mountains were giving way to plains. Finally – Manitoba sign! I am now officially in prairies! And in reality, too. Strange thing, almost immediately after the province border, the terrain changed completely, there were no more mountains, and soon no more forests and pine trees – just endless plains to horizon!

img_6273
Welcome to Manitoba!
img_6298
The scenery completely changed just after several kilometers of Manitoba

Speed limit in Prairies is pleasant 110 km/h (68 mph), helping to make a good time on empty and wide roads. A short hop – and I have arrived to the next POI on my map. This time it is a longitudinal center of Canada! It is a midway point between extreme east and west locations of Canada. It was safe to say, that I was equally far from the Atlantic and Pacific oceans, which added some epic tone to my journey. This was my third day of travel, and it was amazing to feel that I have just reached midpoint of this amazing country!

img_6289
My country is vast!

I was progressing much faster then I anticipated, so i decided to take a better look at Manitoba. I decided not to go around its capital, Winnipeg, but to drive through it. It seems to me like a very nice and modern city, I would like to know more about it.

img_6333
Winnipeg downtown
img_6311
I have never seen so many old cars in perfect condition as in Winnipeg

In general,  Manitoba feels very different from Ontario. Like you have crossed to another country. Totally different landscape, both natural and human. Endless fields, tractors and other machinery working on them, countless grain trucks, huge pickups, beautiful farms and country houses. It reminded me of… Ukraine! At some point I felt back at my home country, but kinda more prosperous, well-groomed. A kind of Ukraine from parallel universe that did not suffer from devastating virus of communism.

With a mix of great feeling of being like at home and some taste of bitterness the day has ended at Brandon, the second-largest city in Manitoba. A beautiful Lakeview Inn gave a great feeling of cozy country home of your grandparents. When the sun set, I could not have enough of unique smell of wheat fields.

It was a great day. Cold and fogy in the morning, warm and sunny in the afternoon. Very bright and emotional.

Day 4. Brandon, Manitoba – Brooks, Alberta. 930 km.

The morning started with… rain! But it was more like a drizzle that faded away when I reached Saskatchewan border. It has a great welcome center and province sign. I have walked here infinite times on Google Street View, following the Trans-Canada route and dreaming about driving it one day. And here I was, standing exactly where my dreams have been for many years. Saskatchewan have always seemed so remote and unreal, although I have always known that I would see it one day. Frankly, I did not expect it to happen so fast.

img_6375
Saskatchewan, Naturally!
img_6384
Dark clouds left behind, sunny cloudless sky ahead.

Driving through Saskatchewan was pretty similar to driving through Manitoba. However, it was similar and different at the same time. It was an endless flat prairie too, but it was brown-yellowish instead of greenish, and it seemed to me that the industry is different too. I have seen many small farms and country houses in Manitoba, whereas in Saskatchewan, in my own impression, the farms are much bigger and seem to belong to big companies. I would like to know more how much of it is true.

img_6496

img_6419
Endless prairies have endless trains
img_6406
Wind turbines in Saskatchewan

I really liked my experience with Winnipeg the previous day, so first we decided to drive through Regina, which seemed like a very nice and quiet city. A kind of place where I wish I had family, so I could escape there. Then I drove through Moose Jaw, where I planned to have lunch (it did not go well actually, the gave me burned steak that tasted like coal and that I declined).

img_6444
Downtown Regina
img_6475
Quiet residential street
img_6518
Some industrial plant in vicinity
img_6530
I can’t get enough of those prairies. Felt like a herd of bisons is about to show up on horizon

img_6535

After Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan decided to show me who is in charge. The weather was still sunny and beautiful, but the wind started to blow like crazy. It was so strong that it was hard to stand straight outside. There was a headwind blowing to the front of my car at angle. As a result, if I kept my speed, the fuel consumption jumped over 30%, from 6.2 l/100km (38 mpg) to 8.5 l/100km (27 mpg), that is a huge difference. In addition, the wind was blowing sideways, so it was really hard to keep the car in its lane. At some point, I have noticed that in a left curve, I had to steer a bit to the right, to keep my car in lane. You can only imagine how much fun it was for truckers, I have seen some trailers (obviously, empty), trying to follow a truck at an angle. It was a memorable drive!

img_6552
Crazy windy plains
img_6555
Rolling plains of Western Canada
img_6598
I have never seen a helicopter serving as a weather vane

What was also interesting about western Saskatchewan, is change of a landscape. Endless fields gave way to small hills and salt lakes! I did not expect to see it there! I guess it may have had similar origin with Great Salt Lake in Utah.

img_6565

img_6583
A huge lake on the other side of the road

Getting closer to Alberta calmed down the wind, but the weather seemed to be determined to show me everything it has got! There was a really really dark cloud on horizon. And the closer I was getting to it, the more menacing it looked. It felt like a huge storm was about to start. And it started! No thunder or lightning, but crazy downpour! I don’t thing I have ever seen a rain that heavy in my entire life!

img_6600
Unbelievable. I reached Alberta! I came there by car.
img_6610
Dark clouds on horizon
img_6615
Storm is coming
img_6620
It was getting interesting
img_6630
Crazy rain!

It has finished as quickly as it started.  And then the Nature decided to smile at me – there was a huge double rainbow! I think it was a good sign. It always feels great to see the sun after storm, but rainbow made it feel special! I could not resist to stop and enjoy this moment!

img_6636
One of the best moments of my journey

After I passed Medicine Hat, the sky cleared completely and it was a nice pleasant drive through the evening that ended in Brooks, a couple of hours out of Calgary.

img_6650
One more famous place along Trans Canada Highway – World’s Tallest Tepee in Medicine Hat, Alberta
img_6655
It is huge

img_6658

img_6664
Calm evening drive through Alberta

The next was, possibly, the most anticipated moment of entire journey – seeing the Rocky Mountains for the first time.

Stay tuned!

One thought on “63. Going West on Trans-Canada Highway. Part 2.

Leave a Reply

